Find your ancestors in New South Wales, Electoral Rolls 1903-1935

New South Wales, Electoral Roll: 1903, 1913 and 1935

Electoral rolls are the nearest thing Australians have to census records, and hence are extremely useful genealogy tools for local, family and social historians. They're one of the best ways to find your family history. The roll also includes the names of women who were newly given enfranchisement in 1902; appointing Australia as the second country in the world to give women the vote.

This collection contains New South Wales electoral rolls for 1903, 1913 and 1935. It holds hundreds of thousands of voters who resided in New South Wales at this time and who were entitled (and registered) to vote. This collection includes high quality scanned images of the original records. It's a great tool for finding your family origins. The detail in each elector can vary but most will include the following information:

  • Name
  • Residence
  • Occupation
  • Number on the roll
  • Gender (F for female and M for male)
  • Commonwealth Division
  • State Electoral District
  • Subdivision

New South Wales 1903 State Electoral Roll

2 of the 4 volumes are here - with over 3,600 pages and listing approximately 250,000 names. It covers Districts C-G and M-R. The electoral districts in this collection are:

Electorial districts included in this collection  
Darling HarbourNorthumberlandRichmond

New South Wales 1913 State Electoral Roll

This features volumes 1 - 16 of the New South Wales state electoral roll of 1913. Apart from the main roll, some districts also have supplemental rolls.

The electoral districts in this collection are:

Volume 1Albury, Alexandria, Allowrie, Annandale, Armidale, and Ashburnham 
Volume 2Ashfield, Balmain, Bathurst, Bega, Belmore, and Bingara
Volume 3Bondi, Botany, Burrangong, Burwood, Byron, and Camden 
Volume 4Camperdown, Canterbury, Castlereagh, Cessnock, and Clarence 
Volume 5Cobar, Cootamundra, Corowa, Darling Harbour, Darlinghurst, and Drummoyne 
Volume 6Dulwich Hill, Durham, Enmore, Glebe, and Gloucester 
Volume 7Gordon, Gough, Goulburn, Granville, and Gwydir 
Volume 8Hartley, Hastings and Macleay, Hawkesbury, Hurstville, Kahibah, and King
Volume 9Lachlan, Leichhardt, Lismore, Liverpool Plains, and Lyndhurst
Volume 10 Macquarie, Maitland, Marrickville, Middle Harbour, Monaro, and Mosman
Volume 11 Mudgee, Murray, Murrumbidgee, Namoi, Newcastle, and Newtown
Volume 12 Orange, Paddington, Parramatta, Petersham, Phillip, and Raleigh
Volume 13 Randwick, Redfern, Rozelle, Ryde, and Singleton
Volume 14 St George, St Leonards, Sturt, Surry Hills, Tamworth, and Tenterfield 
Volume 15 Upper Hunter, Wagga Wagga, Wallsend, Waverley, Wickham, and Willoughby
Volume 16 Willyama, Wollondilly, Wollongong, Woollahra, and Yass

New South Wales 1935 Commonwealth Electoral Roll

This offers the details of tens of thousands of voters who resided in New South Wales at this time, and who were entitled (and registered) to vote. Entries are alphabetically indexed within each subdivision.

The electoral districts and the sub-divisions in this collection are:

District Sub-divisions
Barton Bexley, Hurstville, Kogarah, Kogarah North, Oatley, Peakhurst, Ramsgate, and Rockdale 
CookAlexandria, Botany, Camdenville, Erskineville, Mascot, Newtown, La Perouse, Redfern,
  Rosebery, St Peters, Tempe and Waterloo
CowperBellingen, Bulahdelah, Chatsworth Island, Coff’s Harbour, Copmanhurst, Dorrigo, Forster,
 Glenreagh, Grafton, Grafton South, Kempsey, Kempsey East, Kendall, Macksville,
 Maclean, Port Macquarie, Smithtown, Taree, Tinonee, Ulmarra, Wauchope, and Wingham
DalleyAnnandale, Annandale South, Dulwich Hill, Leichhardt, Leichhardt East, Lewisham,
 Lilyfield, Marrickville, Newington, and Petersham
DarlingBalranald, Booligal, Bourke, Brewarrina, Broken Hill, Broken Hill North, Broken Hill South,
  Carinda, Cobar, Coonamble, Dubbo, Eauabalong, Gilgandra, Gulargambone, Hay,
 Ivanhoe, Louth, Menindee, Milparinka, Moulamein, Narromine, Nyngan, Pooncarie,
 Silverton, Torrowangee, Tottenham, Warren, Wentworth, White Cliffs, and Wilcannia
East Sydney Darlinghurst, Darlinghurst West, Foveaux, Glenmore, King, Nithsdale, Paddington,
 Surry Hills, and Woollahra West
HumeAdelong, Albury, Binalong, Boorowa, Bowna, Cootamundra, Culcairn, Gundagai, Harden,
 Holbrook, Howlong, Lockhart, Tarcutta, The Rock, Tooma, Tumbarumba, Tumut,
 Wagga Wagga, Walbundrie, Yass, and Young
Lang Arncliffe, Belmore, Campsie, Earlwood, Harcourt, Kingsgrove, Lakemba,
  Marrickville South, and Punchbowl
ParkesAshbury, Ashfield, Ashfield West, Burwood, Croydon Park, Enfield, Marrickville West,
 Strathfield, and Summer Hill
ParramattaBeecroft, Epping, Gordon, Parramatta, Parramatta North, Ryde, Ryde West,
  Turramurra, and Waitara
ReidAuburn, Auburn North, Bankstown, Bankstown North, Flemington, Granville,
 Homebush, Lidcombe, and Merrylands
RichmondAcacia Creek, Ballina, Byron Bay, Casino, Deepwater, Drake, Eltham, Glen Innes, Kyogle,
  Lismore, Mullumbimby, Murwillumbah, Nimbin, Tenterfield, Tweeds Heads, and Woodburn
RiverinaArdlethan, Barmedman, Berrigan, Cargelligo, Carrathool, Coolamon, Corowa,
 Deniliquin, Griffith, Hillston, Jerilderie, Junee, Leeton, Moama, Mulwala,
  Narrandera, North Wagga Wagga, Temora, Urana, and West Wyalong
RobertsonBranxton, Broke, Castle Hill, Dora Creek, Dural, Gosford, Hornsby, Jerry’s Plains,
  Rylstone, Seven Hills, Singleton, Smithfield, Teralba, Wiseman’s Ferry,
 Wollombi, and Wyong
WarringahBalgowlah, Camaray, Manly, Mosman, Narrabeen, and Neutral Bay
WatsonCentennial Park, Clovelly, Coogee, Kensington, Maroubra, Maroubra North, Randwick,
  Randwick East, Randwick North and Waverley South
WentworthBellevue Hill, Bondi, Bondi North, Bronte, Rose Bay, Vaucluse, Waverley, and Woollahra