Skip to content
  • Start your family tree
Accessed via cache: false
  1. Findmypast Help
  2. Your Findmypast family tree
  3. Your photo privacy

What is the 'Share photos from deceased ancestors’ setting? Will my photos be visible?

In the future, we’ll introduce the ability to see photos that members have added to deceased ancestors on their tree. In preparation, we’ve added a separate photo-sharing permission box in addition to the current sharing permissions in Tree Settings. You can opt out of this at any time, just like you can with Tree-To-Tree hints and Tree Search. If you do decide to opt in, only photos attached to deceased ancestors will be seen. Photos attached to living (or assumed living) people will NOT ever be shared. 

As this ‘Share photos’ permission is new – we will not act on this permission before May 1st 2022. So, you have plenty of time to change your permission settings before this is acted upon. 

Was this article helpful?