The Women's Prize Trust announces Findmypast as the inaugural sponsor of the Women's Prize for Non-Fiction

2-3 minute read

By Daisy Goddard | June 14, 2024

We are delighted to announce this exciting new partnership.

The Women's Prize Trust is a UK-based charity that champions the work of female writers and is best known for its annual Women's Prize for Fiction. Starting in 2024, the Trust is expanding into new territory with the launch of the Women's Prize for Non-Fiction.

Findmypast is supporting the Women's Prize for Non-Fiction for an initial term of three years, beginning in 2024. The Women's Prize Trust joins our group of reputable partners, which includes the National Archives and the British Library.

In addition to sponsoring this groundbreaking new prize, we are also supporting the Women's Prize Trust's outreach programme. It was established to find the next generation of female non-fiction writers, particularly those from under-represented backgrounds, and help to bring their books to market.

Here at Findmypast, we're passionate about helping people to uncover forgotten stories.

Through exploring family trees, censuses from The National Archives, historical newspapers from the British Library, military records, passenger lists and much more, anyone can build a detailed picture of how people have experienced the world in times gone by. Powerful search technology, an innovative family tree builder, and personalised hints make research easier than ever.

Findmypast is dedicated to helping writers and researchers discover fresh narratives that illuminate both our histories and our lives in the world today. In the coming years, with this partnership, we hope to empower even more women working within the field of non-fiction.

The Women's Prize for Non-Fiction

In February 2023, research revealed the obstacles faced by female non-fiction writers, who are less likely to receive media coverage and recognition for their work than their male counterparts, with a significant pay disadvantage. Out of the top 500 bestselling non-fiction books in 2022, only 30% were written by women.

Prompted by these findings, the Women's Prize Trust has launched an all-new prize for narrative non-fiction, which is open to all female writers who are published in the UK and write in English.

The books shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction, 2023.

The books shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2023. Learn more about them here.

With topics ranging from science and sport to memoir and philosophy, the prize will 'celebrate excellence in writing, robust research, original narrative voices and accessibility'.

Starting in 2024, it will be awarded annually. With a 16-book longlist and a six-book shortlist, it will run on a similar timetable to the Women's Prize for Fiction.

And the winner is...

A huge congratulations to Naomi Klein, author of Doppelganger, the winner of the inaugural Women’s Prize for Non-Fiction.

Doppelganger by Naomi Klein.

Doppelganger by Naomi Klein.

We’re delighted to sponsor this vital prize to champion women authors and highlight under-represented stories.

Have you made your own discovery, using our 14-billion-strong record collection? We'd love to hear about the stories that you've uncovered; you can now get in touch with us directly using this handy form.

More on this topic:

Share this article

About the author

Daisy GoddardDaisy Goddard